Montag, 1. Juni 2009
camino days revisited
vorgestern traf ich meinen pilgerfreund SEDAT in regensburg.



er ist ein türke, der in zandvoort lebt und gerade über 3000 km (!) von amsterdam nach istanbul läuft. er dokumentiert seinen weg und möchte bald den "sultanstrail" von wien nach istanbul wiederbeleben.



er erstellt außerdem ein documentary für das türkische fernsehen, welches einmal pro woche für ca. 10 minuten über ihn und seinen weg berichtet. in dieser woche werde wohl auch ich zu sehen sein...



ich habe ihn einen tag begleitet und eine kleine reportage für seine internetsetseite (siehe Dag 36) geschrieben...

I could hardly believe Sedats email. He is about to walk more than 3000 kilometres from the Netherlands to Istanbul. That is more than walking the camino three times. Respect! And off course I wanted to see him again.

So I followed Sedats call and drove the 130 km to Edith`s home in Regensburg. I know Edith only fleeting, but she and her friend Roland are very kind. They immediately offered me to pick me up by car at the end of our today`s walk. Edith and me briefly talked about coming back from the camino to our everyday`s life and then we a started.

Sedat and me were very pleased about our reunion. He really looks like pilgrim and has even get the camino-seashell on his backpack. After a few metres the good old camino feeling was back again. Departing early to walk the whole day into a uncertain evening.

And so we walked through Regensburg to the “Donautalradweg” and afterwards with the Donau always to our left. More and more the landscape was getting less urban and more beautful. For me it felt really like leaving a big city (like Leon or Burgos) on the camino frances.

We agreed that the camino didn`t ended up in Finisterre. Actually it was the start of the real camino bringing the lessons learned to your allday`s life. For me that was sometimes very hard. I always have to remember me to those lessons. They are in me, but from time to time I have to sharpen my senses again.

We talked about our pilgrimfriends Nicole and Cristina. Both were getting married in the meantime. Since the camino I already saw the both for several times. As Cristina said: “When we mangaged it once, we will manage it always”. Unfortunately we didn`t manage this with Tim.

We also talked about beeing a Sufi. Sedat told me, that you don`t have change your belief. Every confession is able to become a sufi. You only have to open up yourself and the good things come to those who wait. Sedat lives this very convincing - always balanced -with enormous inner composure.

At noon we visited the “Walhalla” - a monumental hall of fame for famous germans like Martin Luther or Friedrich Schiller built by King Ludwig, the first.



BTW: Sedat, I was wrong the day before yesterday! King Ludwig the first was not the gay fairytale-king who built Schloss Neuschwanstein too. That was King Ludwig, the second. I`m sorry for that!

Sedat mentioned that there are two kinds of angels in the Walhalla. The well proportioned erotic angels to the left side and the non-erotic to the right.



I blamed myself with bad general knowledge (“I guess Gregor Mendel was a famous german composer!”). By the way Sedat is very interessted in a marble-statue of “Sedat, the first”. Who is able to fulfill his wish?

On our further way Sedat was phonecalled by Anna. I also met her for several times on the Camino. But we never had the chance to chat in details or exchange our adresses. At that time I was very sorry for this. And now Sedat gave me his mobil saying “It`s Anna! She wants to talk to you. She remembers you”. We talked and promised that we will now hold contact.

After approximately 23 km we came to the village “Bach” (the smallest wine-region in germany!), where we drank a “cafe con leche” in the “Weinstube”. We heartfully said good-bye. Sedat walked on about 4 km to the next village to get there his bed for today. I took the bus back to Regensburg, where Roland picked me up at the bus station. Later Roland taught me about callgraphy and showed me his atelier. Thank you Roland - that was very kind and interessting!

On my way back home I remembered Sedats words. “I`m not in a hurry!”. And so I drove very slowly listening to nice music and enjoying my contentment. This day sharpened my senses again!

Thank you for all, Sedat! I wish you all the best! Take care! Perhaps someday we will meet in Zandvoort!

... comment